Celebrating Women’s History: #31

#31: Finale goes to my mother and all mothers who left us far too soon…

A user's photo.

Alzheimer’s took my mother at age 64, but she had done an exceptional job at showing kindness to everyone. She always thought the best of people. I like to think that part of her is in me, and I hope, my children.

About Ellen Gullo

Unforeseen circumstances propelled me into writing fiction. This was my mother's dream. I never dreamed so high. When she was diagnosed with Alzheimer's, and subsequently died, my anger led me to write her novel. What about? I didn't care. I just started to write. That's when it became my novel. It took years, and I made good use of them by raising my children, sustaining a strong marriage, and growing an exciting career at IBM. Each of these things developed my writing, helping me clarify what mattered most to me. I didn't get here with a literary agent or publishing house. Today's technology allows each of us an equal opportunity to share our unique voice and vision. My mother taught me to fight today for my dreams. The only hurdle is figuring out what they are. The rest will follow.
This entry was posted in Women History Month and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment